Panda in the city

Firstly sorry for not writing sooner so much has been going on but also nothing has if that makes sense!  I have been in Bangkok for 3 months now and I’m not going to lie adjustment has been hard!  And it has mostly been financially. Thamaka to Bangkok has been such a big change! I was on a minimum wage for a foreign teacher in Thamaka but I survived ok I just couldn’t save anything,  the idea of moving to Bangkok was so I could save to visit home and just a change of scenery. I could survive on 100 bht or less a day in Thamaka.  In Bangkok its 100 just to get to work and back! Well I started working at my new school doing the summer camp for 7 weeks. As it was arts and crafts and games etc the pay was lower in fact it ended up being ‘Thai style ‘ low as they gave me an advance to keep me going. I couldn’t even afford a songthaew twice a day (a taxi pickup truck)  its 8 bht for one way which is literally pennies and i couldn’t afford it. Anyway I struggled really bad I had to ask my parents for help which for me is just so embarrassing I don’t think in my entire life ive ever asked my dad for money! I couldn’t afford training which made me miserable, i put weight on from just eating all i did was work,go home watch Tv and eat! But ive been lazy too I could have been running but i was so tired , teaching kindergarten completely drained me especially for the 1st couple of weeks i was getting home and falling asleep by 5pm!! But then I got lazy and got to a point where I felt horrible and unfit! For running the paving is so bad where I live!  It appears they are redoing the sidewalks but at the moment they are at onnut 2 and I’m Onnut 20 so I wont hold my breath. I fell FLAT on my face the other day ripped my trousers and cut my knee just walking haha so anyway excuses excuses i was in a rut and I felt horrible. It wasn’t the smooth transition to Bangkok I imagined.

Tigger! my God the stress at the start I was so nervous about sneaking her into my apartment! I still don’t know if they know or not but they haven’t said anything anyway! She cried a lot for the first while when I left the room. Now she’ll yowl like 3 times in the morning then shes grand! Shes spoilt rotten so she is lol. She tries to make a run for it every morning when I leave for work, she only wants to sniff around the hall but everyday I have to go through this little routine to leave the apartment. Within days of moving in she went into heat! !!! I couldn’t believe it I mean seriously why why? How could we have been so unlucky with her spay! I was once again freaking out as she was yowling so I took her to a vet who basically gave her a contraception injection which stops the symptoms it can last up to 4 months so its been 3 so far so fingers crossed it lasts as long as possible!

So let me tell you about my school! ! I love it!  I love the children all my colleagues are lovely aswell and I’m working with my mate Amy. I think one of the reasons id been so tired was I’m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to my work. In all my jobs ive always wanted to excel and do great work so I put pressure on myself trying to do great arts and crafts! it was great anyway the 1st 3 weeks I had the older children we had a ball made some great crafts and had fun!  The next 3 weeks i had the nursery! !OH HOLY LORD! !! Every nursery teacher out there I salute you! ! I had 16 children and 2 assistants and man were they a handful!  After a week we got into a flow of things I used stickers to get them to behave apart from the naughtiest ones who couldn’t give a fuke hahaha little terrors they were! !  It was fun at the same time and I bonded with them and we had fun but wow nursery…….is not for me! !!! i was waiting for parents to collect their kids one day and one was like ‘teacher poo poo’ he was wearing a nappy so i was like good lad we will go toilet!……No!! more like ‘teacher i already poo poo’ pulled his nappy down and all these rock hard balls of poo rolled out everywhere on the floor! I was like Aaarrrrggghhhhh jasus!!!i didnt sign up for this lol and you have to be so careful what you say in front of these kids man they are like sponges for inappropriate or useless things! I told a boy to wash his hair accidentally instead of his hands! ‘ come on wash your hair! ‘ well he found it hilarious! ! Everyday for the next 2 weeks he’d be like ‘teacher! !! Wash your hair! ‘ and throw aload of water over his head hahaha.

  I started officially teaching 4 weeks ago, I’m teaching KG3 which is the oldest class in school, I have 12 students in my class and i decorated my classroom as a minion theme! ! Once again I stressed trying to get everything ready,  I missed a day because of a visa run and the schools laminator broke so I couldn’t cover all my alphabet and calendar pieces in time. I drew everything myself all the minions etc and I loved doing it!  I had so much free time not training!  I stayed late everyday and drew at home! I forgot how much i enjoyed this type of thing, so anyway I’m proud of my work and the kids love it!
Now the nice way to put it would be I’ve a class of strong personalities with lots of leadership qualities……….but……. I’ve a class of little feckers!!! 8 boys and 4 girls! My girls are just angels ooh I love them they are so good and just lovely!! The boys……well apart from a few are brats! ! Arguing and fighting all the time, tell tales, bossy boots it goes on! ! ‘Teacher he touched my arm, teacher he stuck his tongue out at me! ! Teacher….TEACHER! !! TEEAAAAAAACCCHHHER! !! hahahaha deep breathes! ! I don’t know what’s going on I have a behaviour board, a classroom noise chart etc but it appears to be personality clashes! Hopefully it will work out and they get better, like they aren’t really bad just…..boys too many boys! Yesterday we were waiting for parents to come and collect them, i turn around and 1 is wearing another lads pants (that he wore all day) on his head!!!! WTF??!! i was like are you well in the head? Someone elses dirty pants on your head!!! Then there’s just the random things they say like ‘ok can anyone tell me what day is it today? ‘….’yesterday I saw a zombie and I was like hhuuuuuh yaaaaaa, and then the crocodile came and guuuurrrrr and then I got my gun and killed it ‘……….OOOOOOKAY! !! That was an interesting story! Now back to the question, can anyone tell me what Day is it today? Lol so thats how my days go!! Ive one lad in the class who turned around and told me he was scared to write the letter ‘y ‘…….you can imagine my response ‘ Bah hahahahahaha……write the bleeding letter would ya! !’ You’re scared give over would ya! Amy came into my class the other day nearly crying with laughter! So I go into her class (which is next door ) and she tells one of her students to show me her picture, ‘what’s this? her hair, and this? Her face, and what’s this? ?…..titties! ‘ bahahahahahahahaha aaah like a 4 year old lol. So they definately keep me entertained and on my toes! ! So stay tuned cos ive a feeling the stories will keep coming! We have a school trip to ocean world next week, mine are gonna be a nightmare haha.

So it got off to a rough start but things are coming together now! Hopefully it continues that way! I’m going to write a separate post on joining Eminent instead of cramming it all into one so that one will be up in a few days! and ill write more posts from now on! Laterz 🙂

Some snaps from summer camp

image

3 legged race


image

image

image

The nursery class

My minion classroom!
image

image

image

image

image

My behaviour chart ! We named them supermini ,stuart , bob and mean mini

image

image

image

Tigger when we first moved in ! Scared and wouldnt leave my lap

image

Tigger now haha

Leave a Reply

