Angel Fight Extreme Part 2

Well i have to say even though I made weight fine i expected it to be alot easier! I fight at 58-59kg at home so I thought making 64kg would be easy! But i was still sweating it out in a sweat suit and dehydrating. The morning of the weigh in (which was day before fight) Juliana (one of the other girls fighting) messaged me asking did i see what we had to wear for weigh in! What? What? No? Silver space looking shorts and a pink sport bra…..ooohh man. I was too tired to care too much to be honest.

So we got up to bangkok to a hotel for the weigh in and Thakoon handed me my space shorts and top and i went to the toilet to change and most of the farang girls were in there all looking at themselves like aaaahh in their space shorts haha. Luckily mine we big anyway! So I weighed in at 64.1 and Peach was 64.5 herself and Thakoon then asked me if I wanted her to strip, eeeh the tiny shorts and top they gave us wouldn’t weigh 100g I’m sure. I was like no its OK and Peach had this look of pure relief on her face and said thank you! But dont mistake my kindness for weakness mind 😉
So i stayed at the hotel where we weighed in along with the other girls who travelled. I just chilled out watched movies and ordered room service 🙂 A bus was collecting everyone from the hotel the next morning at 9:15am but Pee A said he would collect me at 10am. Now I knew saying he would collect me at 10 he would be late so at 9:50 he called me and said he’d collect me at 11……11!! But Thakoon said we need to be there by 10am! ‘Its OK no problem!’. So 11am comes and i go and wait downstairs in the lobby, 11:10 still waiting, 11:15 still waiting starting to get nervous! Then the lady in reception calls me over I have a phone call!?? Me???? OK! ‘Thakoon: KELLY!!! i thought you were on the bus!! Oh no im waiting for Pee A! Ooh I thought we forgot you!’. 11:20 I’m starting to freak out!! Now I hate not being in control of, well most things in my life, I’m very independent and self sufficient so I hate relying on other people to go to places! I would have been OK only that my hair wasn’t done! Whenever I fight once my hair is done i feel ready! So I’m sitting there worrying that theres noone there to do my hair or by the time I get there they will have finished and left!!! Then of course my usual nerves right before my fight!(I wonder if this will ever go away ha) start why am I fighting? Am I even good?? No im rubbish!!  Why am I doing this!? 11:30 ‘PEEEEEEE A WHERE ARE YOU!!!!!’ ‘1 minute 1minute’.

So we finally arrive at 12 and I’m rushed to ‘hair and makeup’. From what I saw the venue looked so cool there were so many people working behind the scenes it was really organised! So I’m sitting waiting for makeup and I notice that none of the girls are wearing mascara! Im glad they understood at least that wearing mascara is ridiculous! So i had my makeup and hair done then went back to the room where all the fighters were (Thai and farang together). By this time my Sitmonchai gang had arrived! I was fight number 6 so had my hands wrapped and then was just waiting! Abigail had her camera so we all started messing posing for photos, it was so funny! I tell ya one man you want around to lighten the mood is Nakano! I wasn’t nervous anymore but he’s just so funny we spent all the time goofing around. We were given shorts and bras to wear and nearly all of us had to tape the bra to make it fit as they were so big! I actually thought I looked ridiculous! Shorts, black vest top, with bra over and a full face of makeup it just looked weird! A member of the crew came to tell us wai Kru only 2 minutes, oh ok! Then 5 minutes later wai Kru 1 minute, then right before I go out wai kru 30 seconds! Oooh ffs forget it lol I spent everyday for 2 weeks practicing mine booooooo.
One thing actually that Abigail said to me after the show was that the Thai girls give off this ‘air’ of not being nervous before fights, but mostly its just a front! I think Thai girls have reason to be nervous when fighting foreigners because where many of us lack in skill we make up for in power and strength! I was told Peach was nervous for our fight, she seemed quiet in the room and i suppose it had been a year since she had fought, and Dunnapha, so there’s bound to be nerves when its been a while since you have been in the ring! Even Chommanee right before she left the room took a big deep breath in composing herself. So the time had come and I was waiting down by the stairs to be called up! Well I was feeling nervous then !! all these things were running through my head! This is my chance …..show what i can do, then Pnae called Abigail and she put him on my ear to wish me luck. Then my friends Amy and Matt randomly walked around the corner! I knew they were coming but I assumed they were already there, but they made it just in time! So i get called up so I’m standing in front of the screen and when they open I’m supposed to shadowbox then walk to the next x and shadow more then go to the ring. Well jasus I must have been waiting behind the screen for 10 minutes!!! I was so hot from the lights and smoke going off! I looked to my right to the crew and Peach was standing there as well and I just started laughing! Like come the fuck on open the bleeding screen!! And they’re playing the song ‘Sud suay muay thaaaaaaai’…….Then finally ‘Kelly Creeeeeegaan’ BOOM!! Let’s do this!

The fight went so fast I can’t remember alot of it I’m praying it will go online soon. 1st round was OK but i couldn’t seem to let my hands go I just felt off. 2nd round I don’t know what I was doing I distinctly remember her kicking me like 3 times in a row and I did nothing!!!! Aaaarrrggghh I actually went into the corner sat down and was like ‘Fuck fuck! Im losing!! I’m gonna lose!’ I can remember Matt shouting ‘stop being so respectful’ i was like im not! I cant get her haha .And Jun and Nakano were like you need a big round now! It 50/50! Well i just went out there in the 3rd and went for it! I hit her with a good right elbow and she turned her back on me! When your opponent does that it gives you that burst of energy to just go for it! So i did! She was just trying to teep me away! Her face just looked completely defeated, and exhausted i could tell she was just praying for the bell!
So we are in the centre and im 95% sure I’ve won, but you never know in Thailand! My name was called and ooohh I was so happy!! RELIEVED! it wasnt a great fight! I was just glad i pulled it off in the 3rd! I know for a fact if i get a chance to watch it back i will cringe! But its all a learning curve, it was quite overwhelming the whole production. Ill be more prepared mentally next time! Out of the 8 fights only 2 of us foreigners won. So im pleased that i was one of them.

All in all the whole experience wasnt as bad as i thought, the photo shoot was embarrassing for sure and i still dont see why we should wear makeup in the fight, but it didnt effect my performance which really was my main concern! I dont even think with professional makeup artists working on me you make make me pretty fighting haha. So they can paint my face like a clown for all i care as long as nothing goes in my eyes!! Haha The only thing i was disappointed with were the gloves! Firstly velcro!! Velcro! Come on we are in Thailand the mecca of Muay Thai and you give me velcro gloves. And they were big and so soft like ‘we want to keep our beautiful fighters faces beautiful’ soft! Lol
My shins are a bit sore but im grand other than that! The promoter mentioned to Pee A about me fighting on the next one so thats great………another photoshoot fear to look forward to! Haha but im grateful to have been apart of the show! A fights a fight! End of and I’m happy to get as many as i can 🙂

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

